Daily Pro Wrestling History (06/19): Styles wins TNA X Division Title; Jay Lethal wins ROH World Title

July 19, 2020 0 By JohnValbyNation


Hollywood, California:
– Leroy McGuirk defeated Jon Swneski to win the World Junior Heavyweight Title 


St. Louis, Missouri:
– NWA World Heavyweight Champion Sandor Szabo beat Bronko Nagurski
– Don McIntyre beat Cherry Vanilla 
– Warren Bockwinkel defeated Joe Dusek


Kansas City; Kansas:
– Bobby Bruns, Thor Hagen and Joe Scarpa beat Emil Dusek, Ricci Sexton and Otto Von Krupp 2 falls to 1
– Joe Scarpa beat Ricci (Cyclone) Sexton
– Otto Von Krupp drew Thor Hagen 
– Bobby Bruns beat Emil Dusek via dq


– Fred Blassie defeated Dick Gunkel (Dick Steinborn) for the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Larry Hennig beat AWA Champion Mr. M dq
– Doug Gilbert beat Crybaby Cannon 
– Jack Pesek beat Stan Kowalski


Davenport, Iowa: 
– In the first ever cage match held in Davenport; The Crusher beat Johnny Powers
– Harley Race beat Rene Goulet
– Larry Hennig beat Kenny Jay 
– Chris Markoff beat Billy Wicks


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Dick Murdoch and K.O. Kox defeated Luke Brown and Tor Kamata to win the NWA North American Tag Team Titles


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– In a Cage Match, The Crusher beat Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Heenan
– Billy Robinson beat Strong Kobayashi 
– Nick Bockwinkel beat Dr. Big Bill Miller 
– Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson beat Paul Diamond & Sailor Art Thomas


Mobile, Alabama:
– The Lumberjack defeated The Mighty Mongol to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title


Peoria, Illinois:
– In an Indian Strap Match; Wahoo McDaniel beat Larry Heiniemi
– Ivan Putski beat Buddy Wolff
– Baron Von Raschke beat Bull Bullinski
– Greg Gagne beat Bill Howard 
– Larry Hennig beat Jim Brunzell 

Honolulu, Hawaii:
– Billy Graham beat The Crusher dq 
– Gene Kiniski beat Dory Funk Jr


West Palm Beach, Florida:
– Dusty Rhodes defeated The Spoiler to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Title


Allentown, Pennsylvania:
– Pat Patterson defeated Ted DiBiase to win the WWF North American Heavyweight Title 


San Francisco, California:
– In a Handicap Match; Hulk Hogan beat Nick Bockwinkel & Bobby Heenan
– AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Jerry Blackwell & Sheik Adnan 
-Ken Patera beat Ray Stevens dq


Hamburg, Minnesota:
– Buck Zumhofe defeated Mike Graham for the AWA World Light Heavyweight Title 

– Mr. Wrestling II defeated Larry Zbyszko to win the NWA National Heavyweight Title


Tokyo, Japan:
– Antonio Inoki defeated Dick Murdoch in the finals of the annual tournament for the IWGP Heavyweight Title


Green Bay, Wisconsin:
– Greg Gagne beat AWA Champion Curt Hennig dq
– Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens (sub Jimmy Snuka) beat Larry Zbyszko & Brian Knobbs (sub Super Ninja)
– Wahoo McDaniel beat Boris Zhukov 
– AWA Women’s Champion Sherri Martel beat Madusa Miceli


St. Louis, Missouri:
– The Steiner Brothers defeated Money, Inc. (Ted DiBiase & IRS) for the WWF World Tag Team Titles

Puerto Rico:
– Mohammad Hussein and Dusty Wolfe defeated Ray Gonzalez and Ricky Santana to win the WWC World Tag Team Titles


Orlando, Florida:
– The Dudley Boyz defeat Chris Benoit & Chris Jericho for the WWF Tag Team Titles


Nashville, Tennessee:
– AJ Styles defeated Psicosis, Low-Ki, and Jerry Lynn double elimination match to win the NWA X Division Title 
– Ken Shamrock won a “Guantlet for the Gold” battle royal to become the NWA World Champion


WWE Capital Punishment: Washington, DC:
– Dolph Ziggler won the WWE US Championship from Kofi Kingston 
– Ezekiel Jackson defeated Wade Barrett for the WWE Intercontinental Title


ROH Best in the World: New York City:
– Mark Briscoe (with ODB) defeated Donovan Dijak (with Truth Martini)    
– The Decade (B.J. Whitmer and Adam Page) (with Colby Corino) defeated Matt Sydal and ACH    
– Dalton Castle defeated Silas Young
– War Machine (Hanson and Raymond Rowe) defeated C&C Wrestle Factory (Caprice Coleman and Cedric Alexander)    
– Roderick Strong defeated Michael Elgin and Moose (with Veda Scott and Stokley Hathaway)
– Bullet Club (A.J. Styles, Matt Jackson and Nick Jackson) defeated The Kingdom (Adam Cole, Michael Bennett, and Matt Taven) (with Maria Kanellis)    
– The Addiction (Christopher Daniels and Frankie Kazarian) defeated reDRagon (Bobby Fish and Kyle O’Reilly)    in a No Disqualification tag team match to retain the ROH World Tag Team Championship
– Jay Lethal defeated Jay Briscoe to win the ROH World Title