National Duals Headline Busy Weekend of Wrestling for Mavericks

July 15, 2020 0 By JohnValbyNation

MANKATO, Minn. — The Minnesota State wrestling team heads down to Fort Wayne, Ind., for the National Duals this weekend. The rest of the team not competing at the National Duals will head to Willmar, Minn., for the Ridgewater Open.

The competition for the National Duals is stacked with the best from NCAA Division II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, and WCWA as they all look to take their divisional titles. The brackets are split up by division, so Minnesota State will be competing in the Division II bracket.

Of the 16 teams competing in the Mavericks’ bracket, 13 of them are ranked in the national top 20 for Division II. The Mavericks and McKendree (Ill.)are also both receiving votes in the national poll.

The Mavericks’ opponent in the first round will be the Falcons of Notre Dame (Ohio). Notre Dame is currently ranked fifth in the national poll. The Falcons are led by their three defending national champions, Jonatan Rivera, Joey Davis, and Garrett Lineberger. Depending on how the Mavericks do in the first round, they will compete against either 16th-ranked Indianapolis or fourth-ranked Mercyhurst (Pa.) in the following round.

Leading the way for the Mavericks will beScott VanDeLoo (Sr., 184 lbs.), Matt Mincey (R-Sr., 157 lbs.), Alphonso Vruno (Sr., 141 lbs.), and Adam Cooling (Jr., 174 lbs.). All are off to solid starts to the year. VanDeLoo and Mincey are a combined 18-0, while Vruno and Cooling have worked their way to 8-3 and 14-2 records, respectively. Action is scheduled to begin on Friday night.

Eight Mavericks will head to the Ridgewater Open as well on Saturday, looking to gain some solid experience. Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 9 a.m.

NWCA Multi-Divisional National Duals

Ridgewater Open Brackets/Results on

National Duals Lineup:
125 – Trevor Schultz
133 – Tyler Funk
133 – Paul Selman
141 – Alphonso Vruno
141 – Tanner Mills
149 – Dylan Herman
149 – Daniel Close
157 – Matt Mincey
165 – Corey Abernathy
165 – Brad Maas
174 – Adam Cooling
184 – Scott VanDeLoo
197 – Darick Vancura
197 – Chaydon O’ Fallon
285 – Malcolm Allen

Wrestlers Competing at Ridgewater Open:
125 – Andrew McFall (Unattached)
133 – Dakota Welsh
141 – Colby McIntire (Unattached)
157 – Brent Evans (Unattached)
174 – Max Bullock (Unattached)
174 – Gage Thom (Unattached)
184 – Payton DuPlayee
285 – Chris Zimmer (Unattached)

View More College News

Click Here: cheap sydney roosters jersey